50 States Bike Ride

So one of my recent obsessions is riding a bike. I bike to school and to Shoppers (nearby grocery).

As my interest in biking grows, Adam started sending me decent bike events that is organized by WABA (Washington Area Bicycle Association). One of these events that I am determined to participate is the 50 States bike ride. If you drive in Washington DC, there are 50 states in DC road names. The summed up distance is approx 60 miles which I cannot pull it through in one day. But a miniature version, which covers just 13 original colonies (approx 15 miles) is something that I think I can manage.

This “50 states ride” is an annual event that WABA organized every year. As this is the last chance that I can join such event, I think I am going to give it a try.

http://www.waba.org/events/50states.php
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/09/19/AR2008091903431.html?sid=ST2008092201638&s_pos=

Stay tuned for the follow up story after the bike ride..


2 Comments on “50 States Bike Ride”

  1. abender says:

    So one of my recent obsessions is riding a bike. I bike to school and to Shoppers (a nearby grocery).As my interest in biking grows, Adam started sending me decent bike events that are organized by WABA (Washington Area Bicycle Association). One of these events that I am determined to participate in is the 50 States bike ride. Each of the 50 states is represented in the name of a road in DC.The total distance of this ride is approx. 60 miles, which I cannot pull off in one day. But a miniature version, which covers just the streets named after the 13 original colonies (approx. 15 miles) is something that I think I can manage.The 50 States ride is an annual event that WABA organized every year.

  2. abender says:

    So which are you doing, 50 States or 13 Colonies? It’s not clear from your post. And this is not your last chance: we can do the 50 states together next year. Just get a road bike and starting putting in the miles.😉


Leave a Reply

